New Director for Atlanta Fed's New Orleans Branch

For immediate release: May 16, 2022

NEW ORLEANS—The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta announces the appointment of William J. (Bill) Bynum to the New Orleans Branch board of directors. He was appointed by the Atlanta board of directors to fill an unexpired term ending December 31, 2022, and to an additional three-year term beginning January 1, 2023, and ending December 31, 2025.

Bynum is chief executive officer of the Jackson, Mississippi-based Hope Credit Union, Hope Enterprise Corporation, and Hope Policy Institute. He is a Towsley Policymaker in Residence at the University of Michigan Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy and previously chaired the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Consumer Advisory Board. Bynum is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Branch directors provide economic information from their industries and the Branch territory to the District Bank's president and head office directors, who use the information in discussing monetary policy options and making discount rate recommendations. The Board of Governors appoints three of the New Orleans Branch directors, and the Atlanta head office directors appoint four.

Contact: Monique Broughton Knight | 470-330-7276